Skip to main content
Join Now

< Back to All

SBAM Honors Legislative Leaders, Introduces New Officers and Board Members at 42nd SBAM Annual Meeting in East Lansing

June 24, 2011

The Small Business Association of Michigan (SBAM) at its June 23 annual meeting and networking luncheon in East Lansing presented its Legislator of the Year award to two lawmakers: House Speaker Jase Bolger and Senate Majority Leader Randy Richardville. SBAM President and CEO Rob Fowler cited the legislators’ consistent support for small business issues and, in particular, their leadership in passage of business tax reform.
Yan Ness, owner of Online Tech, Inc., of Ann Arbor, was recognized by SBAM as its Advocate of the Year.
Jaclyn Trop, business reporter for The Detroit News, was honored as Communicator of the Year.
Yan Ness, owner of Online Tech of Ann Arbor, was introduced as SBAM’s 2011-2012 Chair. Also introduced were Vice Chair David Rhoa – Lake Michigan Mailers, Kalamazoo; Second Vice Chair Bob Fish – BIGGBY COFFEE, Lansing; Secretary  Bonnie Alfonso – Alfie – Logo Gear for Work & Play, Traverse City; Treasurer Guy Richardson – Advance HR, Lansing; and Immediate Past Chair, Cynthia Kay – Cynthia Kay & Co. Media Productions, Grand Rapids.
Newly named to the SBAM Board of Directors for two-year terms were Terry Applegate – Applegate Insulation, Webberville; Beth Franklin Cohen – Franklin Iron & Metal Co., Battle Creek; Janice DuMouchelle – Waste & Recycling Solutions, Inc., Grosse Pointe Farms; David Fant – Market Mapping Plus, Kentwood; Bob Spence – Spence Brothers, Traverse City and Scott White – VAST, Marquette.
Share On: