Skip to main content
Join Now

< Back to All

53 Legislators Receive SBAM’s First Endorsement

May 10, 2022

Forty-one Republicans and 13 Democrats — all of whom either currently serve in the Legislature or who have served in the past — were endorsed Wednesday in the first wave of endorsements from the Small Business Association of Michigan’s (SBAM) political action committee.

The most significant endorsements came from the city of Detroit, where the Small Biz PAC supported the opponents of three current senators — Sens. Erika Geiss (D-Taylor), Betty Jean Alexander (D-Detroit) and Marshall Bullock (D-Detroit). Earning SBAM’s support was former Rep. Frank Liberati in the 1st, Rep. Mary Cavanagh (D-Redford) in the 6th and Sen. Mallory McMorrow (D-Royal Oak) in the 8th. 

SBAM PAC’s also supported Rep. Tommy Brann (R-Wyoming) over Rep. Winnie Brinks (D-Grand Rapids) in the Grand Rapids area.

In terms of competitive seats, SBAM supported former Rep. Mike Webber in the 9th Senate district and Rep. Pamela Hornberger (R-Chesterfield Twp.) in the 12th. In the House, the PAC is supporting former Rep. Lynn Afendoulis over incumbent Rachel Hood (D-Grand Rapids) in the new 81st House district.

The only endorsee not technically a member, yet, is Rep.-elect Mike Harris.

The rest of the list is below.

Senate candidates receiving this endorsement include:

  • District #1: Former Rep. Frank Liberati (D)
  • District #6: Rep. Mary Cavanagh (D)
  • District #8: Sen. Mallory McMorrow (D)
  • District #9: Former Rep. Michael Webber (R)
  • District #11: Sen. Mike MacDonald (R)
  • District #12: Rep. Pamela Hornberger (R)
  • District #17: Sen. Kim LaSata (R)
  • District #18: Rep. Thomas Albert (R)
  • District #20: Sen. Aric Nesbitt (R)
  • District #21: Rep. Sarah Anthony (D)
  • District #22: Sen. Lana Theis (R)
  • District #25: Sen. Dan Lauwers (R)
  • District #26: Sen. Kevin Daley (R)
  • District #28: Former Rep. Sam Singh (D)
  • District #29: Rep. Tommy Brann (R)
  • District #30: Sen. Mark Huizenga (R)
  • District #31: Sen. Roger Victory (R)
  • District #32: Sen. Jon Bumstead (R)
  • District #34: Rep. Roger Hauck (R)
  • District #36: Rep. Michelle Hoitenga (R)

House candidates receiving this endorsement include:

  • District #2: Rep. Tullio Liberati (D)
  • District #4: Rep. Karen Whitsett (D)
  • District #10: Rep. Joe Tate (D)
  • District #24: Rep. Ranjeev Puri (D)
  • District #25: Rep. Kevin Coleman (D)
  • District #29: Rep. Alex Garza (D)
  • District #35: Rep. Andrew Fink (R)
  • District #37: Rep. Brad Paquette (R)
  • District #39: Rep. Pauline Wendzel (R)
  • District #42: Rep. Matt Hall (R)
  • District #45: Rep. Sarah Lightner (R)
  • District #49: Rep. Ann Bollin (R)
  • District #50: Rep. Bob Bezotte (R)
  • District #52: Rep.-elect Mike Harris (R)
  • District #55: Rep. Mark Tisdel (R)
  • District #59: Sen. Doug Wozniak (R)
  • District #67: Rep. Phil Green (R)
  • District #68: Rep. David Martin (R)
  • District #72: Rep. Mike Mueller (R)
  • District #73: Rep. Julie Brixie (D)
  • District #76: Rep. Angela Witwer (D)
  • District #81: Former Rep. Lynn Afendoulis (R)
  • District #85: Rep. Bradley Slagh (R)
  • District #88: Rep. Greg VanWoerkom (R)
  • District #89: Rep. Luke Meerman (R)
  • District #90: Rep. Bryan Posthumus (R)
  • District #91: Rep. Pat Outman (R)
  • District #93: Rep. Graham Filler (R)
  • District #96: Rep. Tim Beson (R)
  • District #97: Rep. Rodney Wakeman (R)
  • District #102: Sen. Curt VanderWall (R)
  • District #103: Rep. Jack O’Malley (R)
  • District #104: Rep. John Roth (R)
  • District #105: Rep. Ken Borton (R)
Share On: