Become a Member

< Back to All

Michigan’s minimum wage to increase in January

January 1, 2017

The new year will kick off with a raise for some Michigan workers; at least those making minimum wage. Effective January 1, Michigan’s minimum wage rate will increase from $8.50 per hour to $8.90 per hour. This is all part of Public Act 138, the Workforce Opportunity Act that took effect on May 27, 2014, replacing the Michigan Minimum Wage and Overtime Act. The Workforce Opportunity Act calls for gradually increasing the minimum wage by 25% to $9.25 by January 1 of 2018:

September 1, 2014:   $8.15 per hour
January 1, 2016:         $8.50 per hour
January 1, 2017:         $8.90 per hour
January 1, 2018:         $9.25 per hour
  
This increase applies to all employers in Michigan that have two or more employees age 16 and older, even if they are covered by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act. 

Article courtesy of Warner, Norcross & Judd

Share On: